The line of succession to the Spanish throne – Royal Central

Spain’s line of succession is governed by male-preference cognatic primogeniture, meaning a younger brother would take precedence over an older sister in the line of succession.

This was the case for the current monarch, King Felipe VI, who has two older sisters, Infantas Elena and Cristina. He has two daughters, but if he and his wife, Queen Letizia, were to have a son, Princess Leonor would lose her position as heir to the throne.

To be in the Spanish line of succession, one must be an heir of King Juan Carlos (the father of King Felipe) and get permission from the monarch and government to marry. If no descendants of Juan Carlos remain to take the throne, Spain’s Cortes Generales will create a line of succession that is in the best interest of the country.

Spain currently has ten people in the line of succession:

  1. Leonor, Princess of Asturias
  2. Infanta Sofía
  3. Infanta Elena
  4.  Felipe de Marichalar y Borbón
  5. Victoria de Marichalar y Borbón
  6. Infanta Cristina
  7. Juan Urdangarin y Borbón
  8. Pablo Urdangarin y Borbón
  9. Miguel Urdangarin y Borbón
  10. Irene Urdangarin y Borbón

Source link