The line of succession to the Norwegian throne – Royal Central

Sven Gj. Gjeruldsen, Det kongelige hoff.

Norway’s current line of succession took effect in 1990 when the law was changed to allow for absolute primogeniture.

Article 6 of the Norwegian Constitution governs succession, stating that the monarch’s eldest child, regardless of gender, will succeed them to the throne.

Only legitimate descendants of the current monarch (King Harald) and the monarch’s siblings can inherit the throne. The King’s elder sisters, Princess Astrid and the late Princess Ragnhild and their descendants aren’t in the line of succession as Norway was governed by agnatic primogeniture until 1971, which barred them from the throne.

The current Norwegian line of succession is as follows:

  1. Crown Prince Haakon
  2. Princess Ingrid Alexandra
  3. Prince Sverre Magnus
  4. Princess Märtha Louise
  5. Maud Behn
  6. Leah Behn
  7. Emma Behn

If no one remains in the line of succession, Norway’s parliament, the Storting, will elect a successor or the monarch under Articles 7 and 48, respectively.

Source link