The line of succession to the Danish throne – Royal Central

Steen Brogaard, Kongehuset ©

The Danish line of succession is relatively short compared to its British counterpart, with only 11 royals eligible to inherit the throne.

The current laws that govern succession were adopted in 1953 and is limited to the descendants of King Christian X. Since 2009, Denmark abides by absolute primogeniture.

An heir to the throne will lose their place in the line of succession by not getting permission to marry from the monarch and Council of State. Children born to unwed parents are ineligible, as are their descendants. If no heirs remain in the line of succession, the Council of State can elect a monarch and create a new line of succession.

The current monarch is Queen Margrethe II, and the line of succession to follow her on the throne is as follows:

  1. Crown Prince Frederik
  2. Prince Christian
  3. Princess Isabella
  4. Prince Vincent
  5. Princess Josephine
  6. Prince Joachim
  7. Count Nikolai
  8. Count Felix
  9. Count Henrik
  10. Countess Athena
  11. Princess Benedikte

Upon Princess Bendikte’s marriage, the Council of State said her children would have to be raised in Denmark during their mandatory education years to be able to be in the line of succession; they did not do this and are not in the line of succession. Margrethe’s other sister, Anne-Marie, renounced her rights to the throne and the rights of her descendants upon her marriage to King Constantine of Greece, as her children were in the direct line of succession to another monarchy.

Source link