What is the new line of succession? – The Sun

KING Charles became Britain’s Monarch after the passing of the Queen in September 2022.

Here, we look at the line of succession, and who will succeed him.


King Charles, back left, took the throne when Queen Elizabeth II, bottom right, died in 2022 – Prince William, back right, is heir to the throne and Prince George, front left, is second in line

Who is next in line to the throne?

The throne was passed on to the Queen’s eldest son Charles, who is now King after Her Majesty’s death aged 96. in 2022.

Now Charles is King, his eldest son, Prince William, is heir to the throne, and then his children Prince George, moves up to second in line followed by Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis.

Prince Harry is fifth in line with son Archie sixth.

Meghan Markle and Harry’s second baby, daughter Lilibet Diana Mountbatten-Windsor is seventh in line.


How does royal succession work?

The rules of royal succession have changed over the years.

Leaders of 16 British Commonwealth countries (including Australia, Canada, New Zealand and Jamaica) voted in 2011 to alter the centuries-old tradition to include daughters as well as sons.

Previously daughters could only inherit the throne if there were no living sons.

The line of succession

SOVEREIGN – King Charles
1. The Duke of Cambridge (Prince William)
2. Prince George of Cambridge
3. Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
4. Prince Louis of Cambridge
5. Prince Henry of Wales (Prince Harry)
6. Archie Harrison Mountbatten-Windsor
7. Lilibet Diana Mountbatten-Windsor
8. The Duke of York (Prince Andrew)
9. Princess Beatrice of York
10. Sienna Mapelli Mozzi
11. Princess Eugenie of York
12. August Philip Hawke Brooksbank
13. The Duke of Edinburgh (Prince Edward)
14. James, Viscount Severn
15. The Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor
16. The Princess Royal (Princess Anne)
17. Mr Peter Phillips
18. Miss Savannah Phillips
19. Miss Isla Phillips
20. Zara Tindall

This system, which dated back 300 years, is based on the rules of primogeniture which gives preference to the firstborn male heirs of a king or queen.

This change in royal succession means Princess Charlotte, as William and Kate Middleton’s daughter, is ahead of her younger brother.

Previously if the third child was male he would leap the princess in the line of succession.

This new rule only takes into account children born after 2011, meaning Prince Edward’s youngest child, James, born in 2007, is ahead of his older sister, Louise, born in 2003.

read more on the royal family

Can the monarch marry a Catholic?

Yes, a monarch can marry a Catholic.

Commonwealth leaders decided in 2011 to remove the rule that no heir could assume the throne if he or she married a Roman Catholic.

Then-Prime Minister David Cameron said at the time: “The idea that a younger son should become monarch instead of an elder daughter, simply because he is a man just isn’t acceptable any more.

“Nor does it make any sense that a potential monarch can marry someone of any faith other than Catholic.

“The thinking behind these rules is wrong.”

The Roman Catholic rule can be traced to the 16th-century reign of Henry VIII.

The King broke with the Roman Catholic Church so he could divorce his wife, Queen Catherine, and marry Anne Boleyn after the Pope refused his divorce request.

Why was Prince Philip not a king?

Due to English common laws, Prince Philip could not become king.

The wife of a king is known as a Queen Consort and takes the title of Queen – although she doesn’t rule as the monarch.

But if a female royal marries a man with a title below her own – as in the case of Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip – she will retain the title while her husband will not be entitled to it.

He was known as Prince Consort.

Source link